Tuesday, January 04, 2005

Hall of Fame

Speaking of baseball, Ryne Sandberg and Wade Boggs have been selected for the Hall of Fame. I certainly have no quibble with either pick. Unfortunately Bruce Sutter and Goose Gossage have once again been snubbed. Both of them were practically unhittable closers in an era when relief pitchers were expected to pitch more than one inning, and they absolutely dominated the game. Sutter in particular revolutionized the art of closing, inventing a pitch - the splitter. Good arguments can be made for Jim Rice and Jack Morris as well.

At any rate, congrats to Boggs and Sandberg.


<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?